The Aztec-Tanoan phylum consists of two families: the Tanoan (Kiowa-Tanoan) family with three languages in the Southwest, including those spoken by the Taos and the Santa Clara, and one language in the Plains (Kiowa); and the Uto-Aztecan family, with about a score of languages spoken from the Plateau and California into Meso-America, with relatively late extensions into the Plains. California Uto-Aztecan languages include Cahuilla and Luiseño; Great Basin languages include Paiute and Shoshoni, with the Ute and Comanche dialects in the Plains; Southwestern languages include Hopi and Pima-Papago; Meso-American languages include Nahuatl, the language of the descendants of the Aztecs. The million speakers of the several varieties of Nahuatl far outnumber the total number of speakers of all the other Uto-Aztecan languages.